Well, apparently my career isn’t in shambles… yet

So, surfing around the internet, I decided to look up one of what I thought was a failed endeavour of mine that I partook in this past September. As some of you may recall, I was cast as a couple of voices in a homegrown animated short film called “Conservative Ninjas”. I ended up garnering 2 roles: Patches, the crazy piratesque leader of a grunge type anarchist group, and Hawk, a no-holds barred Cockney punk bloke who loved to beat on people with his forehead. I recorded both roles in one afternoon, in a rather makeshift setting, and was paid handsomely for my time…but never really heard anything more about it. Granted this was a labor of love for the Producer/Director, and if you’re the only one working on an animated film, that can be a time consuming project.

Either way, I hadn’t heard very much before around X-mas, when I got a quickie message from the director saying that there was a short clip of the film online. This is what  was sent:

So the film was getting worked on! From there I moved on to other things at work, and fell into that whole case of “I suck as an artist” funk. But lo and behold, I was saved from the depths of artistic despair by a chance gig working on a new TV Pilot.

Last week I was called in to do the “50’s Announcer” Voice and the “Don LaFontaine” Voice for the new TV Show “Graveyard Carz”. Essentially it’s a similar to what “Monster Garage” was, kinda like “Pimp My Ride”, and (being the only similarity I can draw between the two ) a reality show about vehicles like “American Chopper”. The gist of the show is that they’re taking a completely wrecked 1971 Plymouth Barracuda and restoring it to it’s factory floor condition. Pretty neat stuff. I don’t have any clips of that yet, but rest assured once they get it edited together, I’ll be posting what I can.

Then today, kind of sated a bit in terms of creativity and artistic bent ( oh who am I kidding, I’m never satisfied artistically…), I found that a new clip was completed for the “Conservative Ninjas” film:

It looks like there at least is some forward momentum on the projects I get hired on. Also, another bit of good news, the short film that I acted in over the summer is supposedly near to completion itself. Once that’s finished, I’ll make sure and post it on my blog with permission from the Director.  So hopefully, my career isn’t totally down the tubes but time will tell and hopefully something will happen in the near future that’ll allow me to be in a place where the acting jobs are plentiful and the casting directors willing.

And as usual, if you have any contacts you can send my way, I’d be more than happy to return the favor!

~JYH

~ by jyhash on February 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “Well, apparently my career isn’t in shambles… yet…”

  1. Awesome dude! I’ve always known you were a very talented individual. I was saddened to hear recently about the funk you were in and would think of you often, hoping you might catch a wave. I’m glad to hear it’s looking up for you.

  2. That’s awesome man! Can’t wait to hear more.

  3. which guy were you?

Leave a Reply

 
